Site icon The Times Group Malawi

Phyzix, Patience stand out in UMP Awards 2020

WINNER—Phyzix bagged two awards

WINNER—Bamusi the Best New Fashion Designer

Musicians Phyzix and Patience Namadingo were the top winners during this year’s Urban Music People (UMP) Awards as they bagged two awards each.

Namadingo, who was recently conferred with an honorary doctorate degree by University of South Africa for humanitarian work, claimed the Male Artist of the Year Award and Song of the Year Award with the track ‘Mapulani’.

Namadingo could not be reached for his comment yesterday as regards his triumph.

Phyzix, who recently also bagged three awards during the Malawi Hip Hop Awards, collected the Best Hip Hop Act Award as well as the Album of the Year Award for Gamba Season.

“I am super excited, very happy and humbled at the same time to get these two awards. It’s encouraging to me because I put in more effort and I will continue to do more. I am also happy in that I have also inspired the young generation and peers,” Phyzix said.

He described 2020 as a tough year due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

Due to Covid-19 pandemic, the awards had a combination of virtual and live elements— held at Bingu International Convention Centre (BICC) in Lilongwe.

The other winners during the UMP Awards included Female New Artist (Leslie Moyo), Suffix (Best Gospel Act), Best Male New Artist (Rash-ley), Producer of the Year (Henwood) and Best Duo/ Group (Daredevilz).

Eli Njuchi, who is trending at the moment, having recently launched his debut album The Book of Eli, grabbed the Best Dancehall Act Award, with the Music Video of the Year going to Fredokiss for ‘Dadada’ whereas Ritaa, famed for songs such as ‘Kuwawa’, claimed the Female Artist of the Year.

In the fashion Awards, the winners were Fashion Designer of the Year (Ms Pearl), Female Model of the Year (Bridget Matamula) with Male Model of the Year going to Wongani Sibande and Cecelia Bamusi getting Best New Fashion Designer award.

There were also other awards given to Wendy Harawa (Lifetime Achievement), Mabel Banda Khonje (Fashion Icon) and Carver Bhima (Fashion Legend).

In the media category, Geoffrey Kapusa collected the Media Legend Award whereas Priscilla Kayira grabbed the Best Female TV Personality Award. The other awards in the category went to Sharon Chirwa (Best Female Radio DJ/Personality) and Edith Gondwe (Best Female Entertainment Writer).

UMP Awards Executive Producer Ken Zizwa, while admitting that the awards started late which disappointed some people, described the event as successful.

“It was special hosting it at BICC and we had a watch party at Blues in Blantyre, which was jam-packed and a unique experience. Congratulations to the deserved winners,” Zizwa said.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Exit mobile version