Rashid Gaffer spoils Be Forward Wanderers players


Carlsberg Cup kings, Be Forward Wanderers’ Executive Committee will decide on how much the players would share for winning this year’s cup.

Wanderers were crowned champions for a second successive year after beating Silver Strikers 5-4 on post-match penalties at Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre on Saturday.

The game ended one-all in regulation time.


For winning the cup, Wanderers pocketed K12million plus a glittering trophy, whereas Silver received K5million.

Previously, Wanderers players shared 60 percent of the prize money, but, Wanderers General Secretary, Mike Butao, yesterday said there was a possibility that the players would share more.

“Normally, the players share 60 percent when we win, but for this particular win, we will decide how much to give them,” Butao said.


Butao further said Wanderers were now focusing on winning the inaugural Fisd Challenge Cup and the TNM Super League.

Meanwhile, Wanderers’ Board of Trustees’ Chairperson, Rashid Gaffar, donated K1 million to the team after meeting the players at Wanderers Club House on Saturday evening.

“It is not a joke for a single person to part ways with such an amount. It shows that he truly loves the team,” he said.

The unprecedented three-time champions, Wanderers, became the first team to defend the cup since it was introduced in 2000.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker