Site icon The Times Group Malawi

Silver Strikers directors’ term expires

JUBILANT—Silver players hoist Kabwe

Reserve Bank of Malawi (RBM), sponsors of Silver Strikers, is expected to appoint a new board for the club following the expiry of the term of office for the outgoing members.

Details indicate that the term of office expired on January 31 2022.

However, the outgoing board is expected to work until members of the board of directors are appointed.

RBM spokesperson Ralph Tseka who is also Silver’s former chairperson, confirmed that the mandate for the board of directors expired on Monday this week.

“Everything is in place and once the new board has been appointed, we will communicate to the public,” Tseka said.

The board of directors has served its maximum term of two years after it was appointed in 2020.

The outgoing Silver board of directors has Rodrick Chattaika, who was appointed as the club’s new board chairperson after Victor Madhlopa was fired.

Chattaika said he had no details on the matter.

“At the moment, I do not want to comment much on the issue,” Chattaika said.

Other members of the board are Owen Chona, Mayamiko Mwinjiro, Willard Chakanika, Edwin Mpeni, Chimwemwe Kachingwe, Gaulphine Nyirenda, Martin Kachikwati and George Chiusiwa.

Unconfirmed reports indicate that former Football Association of Malawi (Fam) acting general secretary George Kaudza-Masina has been earmarked as one of the members of the new board.

The Central Bankers turned commercial two years ago, after dissolving the club’s main executive committee.

Following the process, the club established a fully-fledged secretariat and recruited Thokozani Chimbali as chief executive officer. However, Chimbali was not readily available for his comment.

As part of the process, the club also recruited some members of staff for the secretariat.

The club also recruited Zambian Coach Daniel Kabwe, who has also been offered a new deal following the expiry of his contract.

Kabwe helped Silver win the FDH Bank Cup and also finished as runners-up in the TNM Super League and Airtel Top 8 Cup to Nyasa Big Bullets.

Apart from Silver, Bullets are the other club with a fully-fledged secretariat and recently appointed former Fam general secretary Suzgo Nyirenda as Chief Executive Officer.

Last year, Silver held their first ever annual general meeting (AGM) where they disclosed that they registered K58.8 million surplus, having spent a total of K474 million out of the total income of K533 million.

Meanwhile, the team’s board of the company has approved a new proposal on how the supporters’ leadership will be constituted beginning with the replacement of the previous committee.

Following the announcement, the team’s board will appoint six members headed by a national coordinator.

“This committee shall have 10 members of which six shall be appointed by the company with four reserved for Zones’ representatives.

“The four members to represent the zones shall be elected by the zones’ leadership through a ballot/secret election and those eligible shall be chairpersons of the various zonal committees,” the statement reads.

The central committee will also appoint regional coordinators who will have the jurisdiction over the administrative regions of East, South, Centre and the North.

Former Silver Supporters Committee chairperson Kingsley Malaya welcomed the new arrangement.

“Every Silver supporter must accept this because the team is now a company. As for me, I already announced last season that I have done my part. I will continue supporting Silver but I am not ready to have any post. Therefore, I am calling on fellow supporters to support those that will be appointed to serve us,” he said.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Exit mobile version