Silver Strikers lament inexperience


By Mabvuto Kambuwe:

INEXPERIENCED?—Silver player (right) in a game against Bullets

Capital City giants Silver Strikers have said they have failed to win the TNM Super League title in four consecutive years due to lack of experience.

Silver, who last won the league title in 2014, have only bagged the Airtel Top 8 cup in the last four years.


Silver General Secretary, Lawrence Yobe, admitted that lack of experience has been one of the major problems.

“We have very good players but they are still learning. For example, we lost the Fisd Cup [final to Be Forward Wanderers] because we do not have enough experience. It was clear that Wanderers won the cup due to experience as they were composed and knew what they were doing,” Yobe said.

He could not disclose if his side would beef up with experienced players ahead of next season.


“We will map the way forward before we regroup for next season. Technical panel would advise us on what kind of players they want,” he said.

Silver finished the season on position three with 57 points, 14 points behind champions Nyasa Big Bullets.

Former Flames striker Andrew Chikhosi said experience is important for teams to win the league.

“You need to blend young players with experienced ones. There are times when you have tough consecutive games. To overcome such situations, you need class and experience. Silver have a good squad but they lack experience,” Chikhosi said.

In the current squad, only Young Chimodzi Junior, Green Harawa and Mike Robert were part of the squad that won the Super League title in 2014.

Silver have other experienced players such as Timothy Chitedze, Blessings Kameza and Victor Limbani.

Then, Silver had players such as Frank Banda, Ndaziona Chatsalira, Lucky Malata, Blessings Tembo and Sebastian Mhone.

Wanderers and Bullets have plenty of experienced players in their respective squads.

Wanderers have Alfred Manyozo Junior, Esau Kanyenda, Joseph Kamwendo, Peter Wadabwa, Zicco Mkanda and Harry Nyirenda whereas Bullets have Chiukepo Msowoya, Fischer Kondowe, John Lanjesi, Bashir Maunde, Chimango Kayira and Henry Kabichi.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker