Sport Awards on tonight


Fever has gripped over 40 individuals and organisations nominated for the 2019 Malawi Sport Awards scheduled for tonight at Bingu International Convention Centre in Lilongwe.

Outstanding athletes, administrators and referees have been nominated in different categories as Malawi National Council of Sports bids to reward the country’s best in sport.

Sports Council Acting Executive Secretary, Henry Mereka, said they expect foreign dignitaries from African Union Sports Council (AUSC) members to grace the occasion.


Former Sports Council Executive Secretary, George Jana, who is AUSC Vice Chairperson, is expected to grace the occasion.

“All preparations have been concluded and the time to honour our stars is now,” Jana said.

Mereka said being Valentine’s Day, they have included live music performances to spice up the night.


“We will also have a Valentine’s Day present to the first 20 love birds. Musician Faith Mussa will also be there with a newly composed theme song for the year 2020. That is not all because we have also included another artist Kelly Kay to entertain patrons,” he said.

The list of nominees and categories is as follows:

Junior Female Sportsperson: Atupele Bello, Lyness Kanyika, Mirriam Kachingwe

Junior Male Sportsperson: Atupele Nsomba, George Chimphonda, Quincy Mukhwapa

Sports administrator: James Chiutsi, Susan Namangale, Suzgo Nkhoma

Non-Citizen: Davis Mumwesi, Vivek Ganesan, Sharon Melrose

National Team: draughts, ladies cricket, netball team

Sports Woman Of The Year: Doris Fisher, Tabitha Chawinga, Takondwa Lwazi

Sports Man Of The Year: Gabadhino Mhango, Stern Lifa, Yamikani Guba

Sports Woman With Disability: Clara Phiri (Special Olympics), Taonere Banda (Paralympics)

Sports Man with Disability: Christopher Namakha (Special Olympics), Davison Junior Douglas (Special Olympics)

Samuel Mbukwa (Special Olympics)

Best Executed Sports Development Program: Chess in Schools, First Capital Bank (FCB) U-20 League, The Cricket Academy

Sports District of The Year: Lilongwe, Mzimba, Phalombe

Umpire / Referee / Judge: Benadettar Kwimbira Nzika, Clemence Kanduku, Osman Mhango

Coach: Deklerk Msakakuona, Dingani Chirwa, Gift Kansonkho

Media House: Malawi Broadcasting Corporation, Times Group, Zodiak Broadcasting Station

Sport Association of The Year: Chess, Golf Union, Malawi Paralympics Committee.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker