SR darts elect new leaders

CHAGWA— I will strive to take the game of darts
to the next level

By Aubert Nkangama:

Southern Region Darts League (SRDL) over the weekend elected new office-bearers during the annual general meeting (AGM) held at Blantyre Sports Club.

Rabecca Chagwa from SDI darts club was elected as chairperson after nine member clubs out of 13 supported her. She becomes the first woman to head darts league in the history of the league.


In her acceptance speech, Chagwa said it was an honour to be elected as the first female darts league chairperson in the region.

“I feel humbled for the trust the clubs have shown in me. I will strive to take the game of darts to the next level in the Southern Region. I will also encourage more women to join the sport,” she said.

Martin Ngwira from Katimba Darts Club was elected the vice chairperson.


The position of General Secretary went to Kelvin Nyirenda from White Eagles Club whereas Diovannah Surtee from BSC was elected treasurer.

The election of Chagwa and Surtee was a great step in ensuring 50- 50 representation of two men and women in the committee.

During the meeting, it was agreed that the new committee will choose committee members during the first executive committee meeting.

The new committee also agreed to increase affiliation fees ahead of the new darts season. Division One Teams will be paying K100,000 from K60,000 whereas Division Two teams will be paying K60,000 from K50,000.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker