Stadia dilemma

Civo, Silver stadia fail Region 5 test


Civo and Silver stadia have been excluded from the list of venues to host Africa Union Sports Council (AUSC) Region 5 Youth Games slated for December 2 to 11 in Lilongwe.

The development comes with less than 10 days remaining before the start of the games.

Both Civo and Silver were earmarked to host Under-17 TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) Cosafa Zone qualifiers and a girls football tournament.


The two facilities, which are under renovations, will not be ready for the event.

According to fixtures, which Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) released ahead of the tournament, all the matches will be played at Bingu National Stadium.

This means the facility will be busy as it will also host an athletics event during the competition.


The girls football event will start on December 1 as Zambia will face Botswana at BNS from midday before Malawi face South Africa later in the afternoon.

On December 2, BNS will host the opening ceremony as well as matches in the Under-17 boys Cosafa competetion between Angola and South Africa at 12 noon before the Group A match involving Malawi and Botswana later in the evening from 8pm.

Malawi will face Namibia in the last Group A match at the same venue two days later.

Chairperson for the Local Organising Committee (Loc) Dennis Mombera could neither deny nor confirm the development Thursday.

“What I know is that the technical committee had a meeting in the morning. I don’t have the full details of the fixture. I will come back to you once I get all the details,” Mombera said.

Apart from Silver and Civo, the government is racing against time to complete the Aquatic Sports Complex at Kamuzu Institute for Sports in Lilongwe.

However, the Griffin Saenda Complex is almost ready to host the games.

The state-of-the-art facility will host netball, basketball and volleyball.

Outside the complex, government has also constructed tennis courts ahead of the games.

Ten countries—Malawi, Angola, Mozambique, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho, eSwatini, Namibia and South Africa—will take part in the event.

Over 2,500 athletes have already confirmed their participation in the games.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker