Standard Bank retains ‘Best Investment Bank’ accolade


By Frank Phiri, Contributor:

Standard Bank has for the second year running been named Malawi’s Best Investment Bank in the Euromoney African Banker Awards.

Euromoney has been the leading publication for covering the growth of international finance for the past 50 years. Over the past 12 months, its coverage has included interviews with close to 100 bank Chief Executive Officers, ministers of finance and central bank governors around the world.


Standard Bank Head of Investment Banking, Enock Kondowe, said the recognition comes as a result of the bank’s untiring support to firms operating in Malawi.

“We are delighted and proud to win the Euromoney Awards for the Best Investment Bank. The awards are a testament to our leading role in driving meaningful and sustainable investment in Malawi and Africa as a whole,” Kondowe said.

He said the awards illustrate the hard work and commitment of the bank’s staff, management, the board towards achieving the goal.


He added: “Africa, Malawi inclusive, has for the past decade been a hub of foreign investment hence the need for a financial institution with the experience and capacity to offer valuable solutions to both local and foreign investors.

The Magazine’s Awards for Excellence celebrates the best banks around the world by recognising institutions that have demonstrated leadership, innovation and momentum in the markets they operate.

In selecting award recipients, Euromoney combines quantitative and qualitative data to honour institutions that have brought the highest levels of service, innovation and expertise to their customers.

Among the investment areas the bank has supported include energy, telecoms, agriculture, finance and real estate, among others.

Standard Bank has been in the limelight of industrial recognition over the past years. Both in 2017 and 2018, it was also named Best Investment Bank by EMEA Finance, a publication that provides in-depth coverage of economic and business trends in Europe, the Middle East and Africa markets.

The Euromoney awards were established in 1992 and were the first of their kind in the global banking industry.

This year Euromoney received almost 1,000 submissions from banks in an awards programme that covers 20 global awards, more than 50 regional awards and best bank awards in close to 100 countries.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker