Sulom aspirants yet to resign


By Mphatso Malidadi:


Some aspirants for Super League of Malawi (Sulom) Executive Committee positions have opted to play it safe by not resigning from their clubs’ posts ahead of the March 2 elections set for Kabumba Hotel in Salima District.

Sulom statutes do not mandate aspirants for such positions to resign from their respective clubs before they are elected.


Nyasa Big Bullets directors, Malinda Chinyama and Chifundo Makande, have exercised their right to hold on to their positions, just like Masters Security Team Manager, Muhammad Selemani.

However, Zachariah Nyirenda resigned as Masters Security FC general secretary.

Chinyama, who is Bullets director [technical], said he could not resign before the results of the elections as he was nominated by Bullets.


“Why should I resign now when I don’t have any problem with the team? I was nominated by the club and I need to serve the interest of the clubs. If I am successful at the polls, then I will graciously resign,” he said.

Makande, who is Finance Director at Bullets, said there was no reason for him to resign before the elections.

On his part, Selemani, who is vying for Sulom legal advisor seat, said he was still serving Masters to help them find suitable replacements.

“There is no need to rush. It is obvious that, once I get elected at Sulom, I need to resign. In this case, I am helping the club in terms of transition in case I am elected,” he said.

Sulom Treasurer, Tiya Somba-Banda, is vying for the presidency unopposed as outgoing president, Innocent Botomani, will not seek re-election.

The body’s general secretary, Williams Banda, will also retain his seat unopposed.

The post of vice president has attracted Gilbert Mittawa, Aggrey Khonje and Albert Harawa.

The position of vice secretary will be contested for by Thoko Chazema, Aggrey Khonje, Zacharia Nyaleza Nyirenda and Selemani whereas Makande, Chinyama and Ernest Mangani are gunning for the treasurer’s slot.

Legal adviser contestants are Chimwemwe Chithope and David Kanyenda whereas those who want to be executive committee members are Charles Manyungwa, Henzie Banda, Michael Chemaere, Allie Mwachande, Chimwemwe Nyirenda and Titha Mandiza.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker