Super League averages 2 goals per match


As the 2015 TNM Super League season nears its curtain call, the battle for the Golden Boot race has become stiff and goals have been raining too.

The league has been recording an average of two goals per match, according to information released by Super League of Malawi (Sulom).

The record further indicates that 352 goals have been scored in 151 matches this season, representing an average of 2.3 goals per match.


Leaders Big Bullets also top the scoring chart with 37 goals in 19 matches. Kamuzu Barracks have the best defence after conceding 15 goals in 21 matches.

Dedza Young Soccer Stars have conceded 38 goals in 20 matches to hold the record of the worst defence in the League.

Twenty red cards and 369 yellow cards have been shown this season.


The battle for the Golden Boot race has also become stiff with four players in contention for the honour.

Silver Strikers’ rejuvenated striker, Green Harawa, is joint top leading scorer with Red Lions’ Innocent Bokosi after scoring 12 goals each.

Civo United’s Nelson Kangunje is second on the list with 11 goals whilst Bullets’ forward Chiukepo Msowoya has scored 10 goals.

With the goal-scoring trend, it is likely that none of the players will reach the 20-goal mark for the 10th season running.

In the battle for the team honours, Bullets have the advantage of retaining the title after creating a seven-point gap over second-placed Mafco FC with two games in hand.

Bullets have 44 points from 19 matches while Mafco have 37 points from 21 matches.

Silver Strikers are third with 35 points from 20 matches followed by Blue Eagles who are on 33 points from 19 matches.

Tigers are fifth with 32 points from 21 matches.

Be Forward Wanderers are on position nine with 27 points from 18 matches.

At the other end of the table, Fisd Wizards remain at the bottom of the table with 14 points from 18 matches, despite their second win at the weekend.

Mzuni and Airborne Rangers are tied at 17 points. Epac hover above the relegation zone with 19 points from 20 matches.

This year’s champions will get K15 million in prize money.

The rest of leading scorers:

Eight goals: Jaffali Chande (Big Bullets) and Schumacher Kuwali (Blue Eagles).

Seven: Kuda Muyaba (Moyale), John Malidadi Jnr (Blue Eagles), Kumbukani Mwambene (Red Lions) and Bright Munthali (Azam Tigers).

Six: Peter Wadabwa (Silver Strikers), Chisomo Gillion (Dedza Young Soccer Stars) and Harvey Mkacha (Kamuzu Barracks).

Five: Joseph Donsa (Airborne Rangers), Ranken Mwale (Epac) and Calisto Kalinda (Mafco).

Four: Richard Mbulu, Hassan Chapola, Emmanuel Chipeta and Paul Phiri (Mafco), Muhammad Sulumba and Mapopa Kaunda (Be Forward Wanderers), Yamikani Fodya and Mussah Manyenje (Big Bullets), Muda Jeffrey (Epac), Ndaona Limbani (Red Lions), Peter Katsonga (Azam Tigers), Manasseh Chiyesa (Kamuzu Barracks) and Wacheta Mwenefumbo (Mzuni).

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker