Tabitha Chawinga misses out on Caf award


Malawi national netball team superstar, Tabitha Chawinga, has missed out on the chance to become the first Malawian to win a Confederation of African Football (Caf) award.

Tabitha’s name is not on the final shortlist of three players to contest for the continent’s Women’s Footballer of the Year award.

The list, which was released Monday, has Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala, Chrestina Kgatlana of South Africa and Cameroonian Gabrielle Onguene.


Tabitha was nominated for the accolade after she won the Golden Boot Award in Sweden’s top women’s football league last month.

In the main category of African Player of the Year, the competitors are Mohamed Salah of Egypt, Gabonese Pierre- Emerick Aubameyang and Senegal’s Sadio Mane.

Senegal’s Krepin Diatta, Patson Daka of Zambia and Salam Giddou (Mali) are on the Youth Player of the Year shortlist.


The Coach of the Year contest will be between Gernot Rohr of Nigeria, Egypt’s Hector Cuper and Wydad Athletic Club mentor L’Hussein Amoutta.

Competing for the Club of the Year award will be Egypt’s Al Ahly, TP Mazembe of the Democratic Republic of Congo and Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco).

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker