Tabitha Chawinga nominated


Malawi women’s football star, Tabitha Chawinga, has been nominated for two awards in the Damallsvenskan League in Sweden, where she plays for Kvarnsvedens IK alongside her sister Temwa.

According to, Chawinga has been nominated for Best Forward and Most Valuable Player while Nigerian defender Faith Ikidi has been nominated for the Best Defender award.

The 2017 Cosafa Women’s Championship leading scorer is also eyeing the Swedish league’s Golden Boot as she has scored 24 goals in 20 games.


Chawinga is followed by American forward Ellah Masar who has 13 goals.

“It is impossible that Masar will catch-up, thus Chawinga is on the verge of becoming the second African, af ter Gael le Enganamouit, to bag the Damallsvenskan Golden Boot,” reports.

The former DD Sunshine striker (Chawinga) was also the top scorer in 2014 for Krokom/Dvarsatts in her debut season in Sweden.


“She repeated the feat in 2015 in the second-tier while playing for her new club, then Kvarnsveden, before finishing as the third top scorer in her first season in the top-tier in 2016.

“Though she didn’t clinch either of the awards last season, she is the favourite to win the Best Forward award, which she has been nominated for alongside reigning World Player of the Year, Lieke Martens,” reads.

Malawi women’s national football team Coach, Stuart Mbolembole, yesterday said Chawinga’s nomination is timely.

“It is also an advantage to our team. Frankly speaking, Malawi team is 40 percent without Tabitha. Therefore, her success will also impact greatly on other girls who look up to her as a role model. However, based on her performance since she went to Sweden, the nomination is not a surprise. She deserves the best,” Mbolembole said.

All nominations

Best keeper

Hilda Carlén, Gudbjörg Gunnarsdottir, Hedvig Lindahl

Best Defender

Faith Ikidi, Jessica Samuels son, Linda Sembrandt

Best Midfielder

Kosovare Asllani Claudia Neto, Sanne Troelsgaard

Best Forward

Stina Blackstenius, Tabitha, Martens

Most Valuable Player

Filippa Angeldahl, Tabitha, Mia Persson

Breakthrough Player of the Year

Filippa Angeldahl, Tove Almqvist, Loreta Kullashi

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker