Thakor Sanjay, Mkandawire triumph in NBM golf


Seasoned golfer, Thakor Sanjay, outclassed a pool of 100 golfers to be crowned champion of National Bank of Malawi (NBM) golf tournament held at Lilongwe Golf Club on Saturday.

Playing off handcap 12, Sanjay produced an impressive performance to amass 66 points.

Malawi’s number one golfer, Victor Kachepatsonga, scooped second position when he counted out Chris M’banga on 67 points.


Hanssie Hamdan also counted out Gift Landisi to claim fourth position.

Landisi finished on fifth position.

In his victory speech, Sanjay was pleased with his performance.


“It feels great to win the golf tournament which attracted good golfers, and I would like to thank National Bank of Malawi for organising the tournament,” he said.

In the ladies category, veteran golfer, Maina Mkandawire, emerged champion with 72 points followed by Regina Mwanza on 73 points.

Thando Sibindi won the longest drive while Mkandawire scooped the same in the ladies category. All the winners received fabulous prizes courtesy of National Bank of Malawi.

Speaking during the prize presentation, NBM deputy chief executive officer, Macfussy Michael Kawawa, said the tournament received an overwhelming response.

“As National Bank, we are satisfied with the turn out of the golfers. The golf tournament was a good platform for us to interact with our customers. We are happy because we had a wonderful tournament in Lilongwe,” Kawawa said.

The bank also donated K350, 000 for the golf course maintainance.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker