The Voice Africa is here

K103 million for winner


Airtel Malawi on Tuesday called upon people who can sing and are above 18 years old to participate in a pan-African television music reality show.

The Voice Africa will see the winner walking away with $100,000 (about K103 million), and a record contract during the grand finale in September next year.

Seven participants each will be selected from the 14 participating countries including Malawi after live auditions that will follow a process where people are being requested to send a one minute video of them singing in any language to


Airtel Malawi Head of Brand, Public Relations and Corporate Social Responsibility Norah Chavula Chirwa said this during The Voice of Africa Malawi edition launch at Sunbird Mount Soche Hotel in Blantyre.

“We have launched The Voice Africa Malawi edition where seven lucky Malawians stand a chance of representing Malawi at a global stage. All you need to do is just send a one minute video of you singing,” Chirwa said.

The Voice Africa, connected by Airtel, starts with registration where intending talents are to create an account via the official website and upload a one-minute video of themselves singing and, for them to register, they will be required to have an active Airtel number.


“All applications will be processed and if shortlisted for the blind audition, you will receive an audition invitation with details from where seven in each country will be selected. The seven will receive $5,000 each before proceeding to Nigeria to join participants from other countries,” Chirwa said.

The launch on Tuesday, hosted by Nicole Kamwendo, was spiced up by a performance from Kelvin Sings and there were also karaoke sessions.

Hip-hop artist AyCee X, formerly Aycee James, welcomed the platform, saying it is part of unearthing talent.

“The good thing this time is that they are selecting seven participants in each country, which is good. I just call upon people in the country to participate and shine on this stage,” the ‘China Love’ creator said.

Apart from Malawi, the other participating countries are Chad, Congo, DRC, Gabon, Kenya, Madagascar, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker