Tigresses dominate squad, as Ngwira is included


By Mphatso Malidadi

Former Manchester Thunder goalkeeper Lauren Ngwira has been named in the 28-member Malawi National Netball Team squad expected to start camping in Blantyre today.

The First Choice Tigresses player took a break from netball two years ago but she has recently been training with the team during online sessions.


Ngwira is in the star-studded squad alongside Melbourne Vixens shooter Mwawi Kumwenda, Thunder attacker Joyce Mvula and goalkeeper Towera Vinkhumbo of Strathclyde Sirens.

Queens Vice-Captain Grace Mwafulirwa-Mhango is the only notable face missing in the squad whereas several senior players including Captain Carol Mtukule-Ngwira, goal-shooter Sindie Simtowe-Msowoya and centre Takondwa Lwazi are in the squad.

Tigresses have contributed seven players with Kukoma Diamonds and Blue Eagles Sisters supplying five players each.


In a statement issued Friday evening, Netball Association of Malawi (Nam) General Secretary Isaac Chimwala said the camping was Queens’ continuation of preparations for 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games to run from July 28 to August 8.

The statement also thanked FDH Bank Plc for injecting K15 million towards the camp.

“FDH Bank, the Queens official sponsor, has pumped in K15 million towards the camp whose adjusted budget for two weeks is K21 million. Nam extends its appreciation and gratitude to FDH Bank for the financial support,” Chimwala said in the statement.

Meanwhile, Queens Coach Peace Chawinga- Kaluwa could not be reached for comment.

The full squad is as follows:

Francine Chipeta, Flora Chipeta, Sindi Simtowe, Martha Dambo, Beauty Basiao Lauren Ngwira, Tendai Masamba (First Choice Tigresses), Jane Chimaliro, Rose Mkanda, Mary Nyirenda (Civonets), Takondwa Lwazi, Molly Chisambiro, Madalitso Mkandawire, Chifuniro Moses, Maggie Sikwese (Blue Eagles), Shabel Bengo, Bridget Kumwenda, Shira Dimba, Caroline Mtukule, Jessica Sanudi (Kukoma Diamonds), Hope Mdala (Mzuzu Queens), Joana Kachilika (Imosys), Thandie Galeta (Lioness), Brenda Luwanda (Mafco), Florence Gamuka (Shizaella), Joyce Mvula (Manchester Thunder) Towera Vinkhumbo (Sirens) and Mwawi Kumwenda (Melbourne Vixens).

Members of the technical panel include Head Coach Peace Kaluwa, Vice- Coach Whyte Mulilima, Team Manager Diana Nkhulembe, Team Doctor Sella Msimuko and Trainer Madanno Tepetheya.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker