Times’ Chikadya conferred Lifetime Achiever award

IT’S YOURS—Minister of Information Gospel Kazako (L) presenting the award of Best Television of the Year to Times Group Editor-in-Chief George Kasakula

Times Group Managing Director, Leonnard Chikadya, and several other journalists from the media house have excelled in the Media Institute for Southern Africa (Misa) Malawi Annual Awards with Times Television being embellished with the Best 2020 Electronic Media House of the Year accolade in the television category.

Chikadya has been conferred the Lifetime Achiever award for “his immense and outstanding positive contribution to the Malawian media in his capacity as the Managing Director of Times Group”.

The awards were presented on Saturday night in Lilongwe during the Misa Annual Gala Dinner. In total, Times has scooped 17 awards in different categories, 15 of which have gone to individual journalists.


Times Editor-in-Chief George Kasakula said the awards are an indication that the media house successfully retains confidence of the people that make assessments.

“It means we have been assessed and we have proven that we still have what we need to have,” Kasakula said.

He added that this year’s awards have been so special to Times considering that its Managing Director has also been recognised for his contribution to the media industry in the country.


“He is someone who has worked so hard to develop the media; it is one of the untold stories about media development in Malawi.

“He works behind the scenes, you don’t see him on TV, you don’t hear his voice on radio, or indeed he doesn’t write any story in the newspaper, but he is someone who works so hard,” Kasakula said.

Speaking at the event, Minister of Information, Gospel Kazako, assured the media of its freedom and support from the government.

In her remarks, Misa Chairperson, Teresa Ndanga, encouraged the journalists to continue being creative.

She cited data journalism and investigative journalism as areas in which media practitioners need to improve.

Times winning journalists

Thomas Kachere got four awards in the electronic category: Democracy and Good Governance Journalist of the Year, Anti-Corruption Journalist of the Year, Sustainable Development Goals Journalist and Urban Water Development Journalist of the Year.

Wanangwa Chafulumira and Alick Ponje have won two awards each in the electronic category with Ponje getting the Water and Sanitation Journalist of the Year and Best Red Ribbon Journalist of the Year.

Chafulumira has been awarded as the Best Journalist in the Human Rights category as well as Girls and Women Rights category.

Best Democracy and Governance Journalist of the year in the print category award has gone to Rebecca Chimjeka, with Audrey Kapalamula shining in the Health Research print category.

Serah Chilora has been exceptional and awarded in the best Farm Radio Programme of the year, Jameson Chauluka in Best Public Infrastructure (Electronic) while in the print under the same category, Sam Kalimira got the award.

The Essential Medicine Best Journalist (Electronic) went to Faith Kadzanja and Urban Water Development Journalist of the Year (Print) award has gone to two Meclina Chirwa and Charles Mkoka.

Online Media House of the Year is Nation Publications Limited, Zodiak is Electronic Media House of the Year in radio category while Print Media House of the Year is Nation Publications Limited.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker