Times Group crowned media champions


The biggest and leading media company, Times Group, on Saturday demonstrated that there is no substitute to experience when it triumphed over all media houses to clinch the 2016 media house of the year in both print and electronic (television) categories organised by the Media Institute of Southern Africa (Misa) Malawi Chapter.

Nothing could also stop the country’s all-encompassing and innovative media house from more celebrations as the company’s individual reporters walked out of the Sunbird Nkopola Lakeshore Conference Centre with 12 awards in different categories.

Multi-award winning Malawi News Assistant Editor Charles Mpaka led the youthful but hungry-for-success team by being awarded as the best in Water, Sanitation and Hygiene category. The prowling Mpaka bounced back on stage to clinch the Information Communication and Technology (ICT) reporting in print category.


Whyghtone Kapasule bagged education award in the electronic category.

Richard Chirombo, was awarded in human rights print media category for his best coverage of abductions and killings of people with albinism. Chirombo also proved that it was not by mere chance that he won when he carted home the blogger of the year award for his Zachimalawi blog.

Soft spoken business and economics reporter, William Kumwembe, joined the jamboree by clinching the Hennox Mazengera best financial reporting award in print category.


Times Television health programmes presenter and producer, Rachel Mhango, was crowned best Paediatric and Adolescence HIV reporter in electronic media category.

Photo journalist of the year award went to Snowden Kadzakumanja for an exclusive picture that captured the fall of President Peter Mutharika at State House. The picture went viral on social media networks and was even grabbed and used by the international media.

Tales of Time columnist Madalitso Musa was voted the best in American Embassy sponsored Raphael Tenthani columnist of the year award while Times Television Exclusive programme host Brian Banda retained his best talk show host award.

Times Group Editor-in- Chief, George Kasakula, described the awards as both a call for celebration and a challenge.

“Firstly, at Times Group we are happy starting from the Board of Directors, the Managing Director, myself and my colleagues in all the departments. This is team work and we are very happy that we have won.

“Secondly, It is a challenge because we have raised the bar and we need to maintain it so that come next year, this time, we also do well,” Kasakula said.

Best electronic (radio) media house and online awards went to Zodiak Broadcasting Station.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker