TNM Super League awards tonight


Last season’s outstanding performers in the TNM Super League are expected to be decorated at Amaryllis Hotel in Blantyre tonight.

Top players and journalists are expected to receive their awards.

TNM plc acting Chief Executive Officer Lloyd Gowera said the awards gala gives them an opportunity to reward and recognise individual brilliance in key categories of players, clubs and media.


“The end of every TNM Super League season is a time to look back at the Who’s Who of the local football industry in terms of players and media practitioners.

“On Wednesday, TNM will pay special tribute to the heroes of the just ended season by decorating and bestowing upon them the medals of recognition they deserve,” he said.

Gowera said the 2022 season was one of the most exciting in recent years as it marked the return to total football action after Covid lockdowns.


Nyasa Big Bullets retained the championship with 73 points whereas Blue Eagles were second with 63 points. Third-placed Kamuzu Barracks finished with 57 points.

Players and managers will fight for honours in seven categories namely; Goalkeeper of the Season, Defender of the Season, Best Midfielder of the Season, Coach/Manager of the Season, Top Goal Scorer of the Season, Rookie of the Season and Player of the Season.

The outstanding players were identified through voting using a monkey survey system. Voters were team coaches, captains and members of the media.

In the media awards category, eight awards are up for grabs in categories of Print, Radio, Television, Radio Commentary, Online, Photography (Still and Video) and Analysis.

The media awards are adjudged by an independent panel comprising media scholars and experienced practitioners.

The following are nominees:

Goalkeepers: Pilirani Mapira, Brighton Munthali and Richard Chimbamba

Defenders: Miracle Gabeya, Paul Ndhlovu, Stanley Sanudi and Gomezgani Chirwa

Rookie: Patrick Mwaungulu, MacDonald Lameck and Gift Chunga

Manager: Kalisto Pasuwa, Elijah Kananji and Charles Kamanga

Midfielder: Chimwemwe Idana, Chawanangwa Gumbo and Patrick Mwaungulu

Player of the Season: Patrick Mwaungulu, Paul Master, Gomezgani Chirwa, Babatude Adepoju

Top goal-scorer: Babatunde Adepoju

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker