Voters’ roll out


Football Association of Malawi (Fam) has released a list of delegates expected to vote during tomorrow’s elective general assembly at Sunbird Nkopola in Mangochi District.

The release puts to rest tension and suspicion that surrounded the list after Fam presidential candidates, Willy Yabwanya Phiri and Wilkins Mijiga, questioned the delay in publicising the delegates.

Fam general secretary, Suzgo Nyirenda, who holds a similar post for the election’s electoral committee, yesterday said they submitted the list in line with a set deadline.


“We requested the names of the delegates quite earlier because we wanted to prepare the accreditation. It was not a full list, as such, we could not release it. However, we were given up to 10 am and we submitted it on time,” he said.

Nyirenda said with support from Malawi Electoral Commission, preparations were on schedule.

“They have given us the support we needed, including the polling booth. It is a secret ballot and they have helped to make sure that the elections are free and fair,” he said. He said this after unveiling new Fam commercial director Limbani Matola on Thursday.


Meanwhile, Nyirenda announced that campaign period closes tonight.

“The deadline is on 11th December 2015 at midnight. The electoral board has put in place mechanisms to check what is going on. They also have the personnel to monitor the situation on the ground. At the end of the day, we want to have free and fair elections,” he said.

Nyirenda said the electoral board was empowered to take action against candidates found campaigning beyond the deadline.

The following is the list of delegates to the elections: Raphael Humba (chairperson), William Gowelo (member), Daud Mtathiko (treasurer), Rajab Namalaka (vice-treasurer), George Pagaja (general secretary, Tiziona Banda (member)-Southern Region Football Association).

Severia Chalira (chairperson), Lina Mtegha (general secretary),- National Women’s Football Association.

Kondwani Gondwe (chairperson) Leonard Mazombwe (member)- Beach Soccer Association.

Patrick Kapanga (chairman), Chris Kalichero (general secretary)- National Referees Association.

Mabvuto Missi (chairperson) Chimango Munthali (vice-general secretary).-National Youth Football Association.

Jommo Ngonga (chairperson), Benjamin Kumwenda (general secretary)-National Coaches Association

Innocent Botomani (chairperson), Williams Banda (general secretary), Tiyanjane Somba-Banda (treasurer), Captain Gilbert Mitawa (legal adviser), Godfrey Makawano (member), Aggrey Khonje (member) Lt. Col. Elvis Mwase (member), Charles Manyungwa (member)- Super League of Malawi

Lameck Khonje (chairperson), Andrew Phiri (member), Chauka Mwasinga (treasurer), Fumbani Gondwe (member), Alfred Gunda (general secretary),Patel Kaunda (vice-general secretary)-Northern Region Football Association.

Austin Ajawa (chairperson), Pyson Likagwa (treasurer), Bernard Harawa (general secretary), Winston Katendema (member), Charles Kapichi (vice- chairman) Tifa Ngoma vice-treasurer-Central Region Fotball Association.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker