Voting lines open for Nyasa Music Awards


The voting lines have opened for nominees in the 2018 Nyasa Music Awards (NMAs) to be held at Comesa Hall in Blantyre on May 4.

The organisers released the nomination list, which has received heavy criticism, sometime back but delayed in opening voting lines.

“Voting lines are open. Send the voting code to 3039 for both Airtel and TNM [numbers],” said the organisers on their Facebook page.


One of the members of the organising team, James Makunje Jr, said on Monday that they were ready for the awards and that people should expect surprises.

“The voting lines are open and, as such, we call upon people to vote so that right winners should get the awards. We will be transparent throughout the process,” Makunje Jr said.

The organisers have indicated that the categories have voting codes.


For example, in the category of Album of the Year, Lawi’s Sunset in the Sky has the code of ALB1, Sangie’s Painless (ALB2), David Kalilani’s Fore Runner (ALB3) and Lucius Banda’s Crimes (ALB4).

In the category of Best Hip Hop Artist, Fredokiss has the code of HHP1, Gwamba (HHP2), Martse (HHP3), Suffix (HHP4) and Macelba (HHP5).

There are close to 22 categories this year.

The awards will be hosted by South Africa’s Somizi and Judith Emcee.

Some of the artists, who are set to perform during the awards, include Zani Challe, Macelba, Gwamba, Tay Grin, Zathu Band and The Great Angels Choir.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker