Advertisement
Columns

Well out: Sand off the putting green

Advertisement

I am pleased to see that an increasing number of golf committees and golf course managers now request players to carry a bag or bottle of sand during their round, for use in repairing divot damage caused by them or others.

There is no doubt that in most cases, the immediate repair of divot holes with a sand mix promotes the fastest recovery possible.

Note that I am not getting into correspondence as to whether this is necessary on courses in regards the grass, as it is not my area of expertise.

Advertisement

Nor am I going to address the old issue as to why there is no relief from divot holes (and never will be!), if the committee declares no preferred lies on the course.

One of the problems in requesting players to repair divot holes is that they do not always carry out the task properly.

More than once while playing in Lilongwe, I have encountered mounds of sand on the fairway, presumably due to someone carelessly pouring too much into a divot hole.

Advertisement

So, what are the Rules implications in this situation? The mound of sand has the same status as if it was lying flat on the surface. It is a natural part of the course and, importantly, is not a loose impediment, unless it lies on the putting green.

From the Definition of Loose Impediments; Sand and loose soil are loose impediments on the putting green, but not elsewhere.

The effect of this is that none of the sand may be removed before playing a stroke, or during a practice swing if it results in any improvement to the lie of the ball, the player’s stance or their area of intended swing.

A player may not even press down on the sand behind their ball while addressing their ball, although they may lightly ground their club on the sand.

However, no penalty is incurred if some of the sand is removed on the backswing of a stroke that is completed, as clarified in Decision 13-2/9;

  1. A player’s ball lies in a sandy area through the green and there is a mound of sand a few inches behind his ball. The player makes his stroke and in the process he removes the mound of sand with the clubhead on his backswing, improving his lie. Is the player subject to penalty?
  2. No, provided that he did not ground his club other than lightly and that he took a normal backswing.

Of course, once the stroke has been made the player should then flatten the remaining mound of sand for the benefit of those players who follow.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Advertisement
Show More
Advertisement

Related Articles

Check Also

Close
Back to top button
Close

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker