Women’s championship draw slated for today


All is set for the 2021 Fam Women’s National Championship draw at Mpira Village in Chiwembe Township, Blantyre, today.

The competition, which will attract nine teams, three from each region, will be played in two phases between March and April 2022.

According to dates that Fam released Tuesday, the first phase of the competition, which will be group stages, will start from March 19 to April 10 before the national finals between April 22 and 24 at a venue yet to be announced.


During today’s draw, the teams will be placed in three pots with teams from one region in one pot. The nine teams will be divided into two groups with one group comprising five teams, with the other group having four teams.

The draw will be done by picking one team from each of the three pots for 1 and 2 and a similar for group 2.

The remaining three teams will now be put in one pot where the first team to be drawn will be in Group 1 and the second one in Group 2.


For the remaining team, there will be a draw of lots to determine the group it will belong to,” a statement from Fam.

The teams in each group will play against each other in a single round robin and top two teams from each group will advance to the semifinals.

Holders DD Sunshine, Skippers and Ascent Academy qualified for the national phase from Central Region whereas Blantyre Zero (now under Nyasa Big Bullets management), Ntopwa and Bangwe Super Queens will represent Southern Region.

CY Sisters, Moyale Barracks and Topic are Northern Region representatives.

Sunshine Captain Madyina Ngulube said her side was ready to defend the cup.

“We know that teams will come hard on us but we are prepared for them,” she said.

On his part, Ntopwa owner Isaac Jomo Osman said he was building a strong team.

“We have assembled a good squad and the girls are eager to showcase their talent,” Osman said.

The national champions will pocket K3 million plus a trophy, with the runner-up getting K1.5 million.

Third and fourth placed teams will get K750,000 and K500,000, respectively.

Each of the nine teams will pocket K1 million as a subvention during the group stages. Additionally, the four semifinalists will receive K1 million each.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker