Young Scorchers out


Malawi under-20 women’s national football team crushed out of the World Cup qualifiers after going down 1-0 to Zimbabwe at Barbourfields in Bulawayo.

The Young Scorchers have exited the competition after losing 2-1 on aggregate following a one-all draw at Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre a fortnight ago.

In the absence of injured head coach, Maggie Chombo- Sadik, assistant coach Kondwani Mwalweni was in charge of the team.


According to Football Association of Malawi (Fam) official Facebook page, the Young Scorchers had a grand game but lacked firepower upfront.

The two teams went for break with scores at 0-0 but the hosts got an important goal after 72 minutes of the game.

Dianah Banda scored the lone goal for the hosts in the 72nd minute to dump out Malawi of the competition.


But the Young Scorchers were wasteful as they missed several chances.

Captain Zainab Kapanda missed the best chance for the Young Scorchers when she shot straight into the palms of Zimbabwe goalkeeper Cynthia Shonga after 53 minutes of the match.

The visitors looking for a goal made the first substitution in the 69 minutes as Gladys Banda paved the way for Eltech Phiri.

However, it was the hosts who found the back of the net in the 72nd minute.

Three minutes later, Young Scorchers also brought in Muva Moyo for Tendai Sanudi after the hosts scored, in an effort to grab the equaliser but it never came.

After the final whistle, Mwalweni despite the loss was pleased with the performance of the team.

“The referee awarded Zimbabwe a goal but there was an infringement. The players played well. It was unfortunate that we missed several chances. But we have a good team which should be maintained,” Mwalweni said.

Zimbabwe coach, Rosemary Mugadza, said victory was important for her side.

“We had many chances but we were let down by our strikers. But it is good we have gone past the preliminary round and we are looking forward to the first round,” she said.

Malawi’s Line up: Ruth Mhango, Jessie Josefe, Vitumbiko Mkandawire, Chikondi Dube, Tiwonge Phiri, Tendai Sani, Zainab Kapanda, Grace Yotamu, Yamikani Mhango, Chisomo Banda, Gladys Banda.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker